Saturday | 7th December 2019

Welcome to Dún Laoghaire: Bailey and Pim

Related to:

Bailey and Pim

Open 9:30 – 5:30

7 Days a Week

Bailey and Pim, Dun Laoghaire’s only Victorian style cafe proudly boasts that it’s been serving since 1874, but they don’t mean coffee. This is a coffee shop with a cause; the name Bailey comes from the surname of Wellesley Bailey, the founder of The Leprosy Mission and Pim comes from the last name of Jane Pim, one of the initial monetary supporters of the charity.

 

This Victorian inspired eatery serves lunch seven days a week with their own blend of coffee, ‘The Kingstown Blend’ and speciality loose leaf and bagged teas. The Leprosy Mission plans on growing coffee beans and produce its own coffee which will be served exclusively at Bailey and Pim.

 

Upon entering you feel transported back in time. Tempting cakes, tarts and pastries line the counter and a bookcase filled with gimmick books for sale and this little cafe is full of old school charm. The building that houses Bailey and Pim is near and dear to the cause they support because it was once a hospital for leprosy patients.

Upstairs is a function room which seats 10 people comfortably. The rooms decor is reminiscent of an 1800’s parlour and overlooks Georges St. Bookings are currently being taken for business meetings or afternoon tea.

Ken Gibson, CEO of The Leprosy Mission with his wife Jane and daughter Maro opened the doors of Bailey and Pim in support of the mission with all profits from the restaurant going directly toward The Leprosy Mission.

What they didn’t expect was the community support they received.  When the Gibsons were setting up shop they took note of how many curious people popped in just to ask about their business. Maro said that the community has been extremely friendly and welcoming. Bailey and Pim is excited to grow and wants to use the restaurant as a place to aid the community it serves.

Be sure to follow Bailey and Pim on Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

Previous

Next